$124,375

Raised to date of the $1,070,000 goal.
Investment Type: Regulation CF
Minimum Investment: $350

Meet tinyFarm: The Award-Winning Smart Indoor Farm Powered by Living Organic Soil and AI.

  • Winner of Milan Design Week and Innovation Pick of 2021.

  • Invest in modgarden today and receive your tinyFarm. (See perks below!)

  • Expert Preferred Vendor for 6,250 EnviroNomic™ homes being developed in Portugal.

Offering at a Glance:
Highlights
Overview
Product Gallery
Impact Driven Mission
The Team
Aamar Khwaja
Founder, CEO & THE ORIGINAL tinyFarmer
Meet Aamar Khwaja, a foodie with a fiduciary mind. Aamar is the founder of modgarden's tinyFarm. Once a Wall Street banking professiona..
ALAN TRATNER
ADVISOR & CO-FOUNDER EARTH DAY
Green2Gold Incubator: Prof. Alan Arthur Tratner, has served as the President of the Inventors Workshop International and the Entreprene..
Sid Apaya
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER
Sid is a senior CPG executive and former General Manager and brings a unique blend of leadership experience and entrepreneurship - with..
Hope Paterson
CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER
It's safe to say that "food" is at the center of Hope's universe. When she's not eating it, sniffing it out, gathering it, cooking with..
Mobeen Khan
ADVISOR & TECHNOLOGY EXPERT
Chief Operating Officer at Blues: Mobeen Khan has consistently been at the forefront of IoT. With both his Bachelor's and Master's degr..
JAMES MCMILLEN
CHIEF HORTICULTURE OFFICER
James was groomed from three generations of horticulturists and boasts skills in renovation, sustainable design, garden sustainability,..
About the Team:
Technology Partners: tinyLab, modgarden’s research and development arm.Created two years ago, tinyLab acts as a brain-trust of researchers, scientists, soil ecologists, political activists, entrepreneurs and investors all working in global collaboration towards a shared mission — bringing nature . . . . .
Read More
Q&A WITH FOUNDER

tinyFarm is an indoor growing “system,” or appliance designed to grow fresh nutritious greens powered by living organic soil and AI. You can grow microgreens, leafy greens, and herbs, at half the cost of grocery. 


tinyFarm is for anyone who wants nutritious greens at home. The system is easy to use and convenient like any other everyday home appliance. tinyFarm was specifically designed for people with no prior experience growing plants of any kind. Simply insert our no-mess tinySoil block, overlay the seed cartridge, fill the water reservoir, and you're all set! LED lights in the system have been designed to mimic the sun. And our water sensors measure soil humidity levels. The lights will go on and off automatically.

You can grow a variety of greens, specifically three types -  Microgreens, Leafy Greens, and Herbs. 


You can grow almost any Microgreen such as broccoli sprouts,  sunflower sprouts, Kale, and Arugula sprouts.  Examples of Leafy Greens include Kale, Spinach, Chard, and Arugula, while Herbs include basil, rosemary, mint, and coriander.  You can even grow some root vegetables, like carrots and radishes for example.

The short answer is that it depends on the mix. You can grow up to 32 servings per month. Microgreens typically take 7-10 days, Leafy Greens up to 2 weeks, and Herbs up to 4 weeks.


Almost every smart gardening solution currently in the market is built for convenience. That’s why they sell products based on Hydroponics which tend to use artificial nutrient solutions. Further, you will get flowers, garden plants, and herbs as part of the product mix.


Modgarden is built for your family’s wellness. Starting with our founder's story of poor health due to the quality of the growing medium, the soil we use is pure, organic, and is rich in minerals and soil microbes.  Science has shown that the quality of soil has a direct correlation to the health of a plant and in turn, impacts your family’s health. There are zero impurities like pesticides or heavy metals, there is no loss in nutrition due to long supply chains and when it's fresh, produce is delicious and makes your food come to life!


The unit is also modular and this is important because as your family grows so can the stackable tinyFarms in your home. You can grow over 60 different leafy vegetables, herbs, microgreens, and even roots. You can expand it vertically by either stacking or expanding horizontally


The entire system is supported with AI to make it easy for you to grow at an individual level.


tinyFarm offers a subscription, where the cost of the unit is $199 and the monthly subscription is $25 per month. You get healthier and tastier food, saving you a trip to the grocery store and all at half the cost of grocery.

We launch in the US in Q1 2022 and expand into Europe and  Asia through 2023 and 2024. Plans are in place to launch in B2B grocery and restaurant channels in 2023/2024.


We are at the intersection of 3 markets that have a lot of M&A activity at a global level - the Smart Home, Ag-Tech, and AI. We will actively build potential partnerships and exit options for partners who believe in our mission to enable an exit in 5-7 years.


Term Sheets
Investor Perks
Financial Discussion
Market Landscape
Risks & Disclosures
We have no operating history upon which you can evaluate our performance, and accordingly, our prospects must be considered in light of the risks that any new company encounters.We were incorporated under the laws of Wyoming on August 18, 2020 and under Ontario, Canada on May 5th, 2015 where our operations thus far have been startup related and product development and consumer research, marketing and product surveying. Accordingly, we have little . . . . .
Read More
Form C

modgarden Form C

Data Room
Updates
Comments
Joe K
04-07-2021 10:26 AM
Investor
Modgarden: This looks like a really exciting product. For this stage of your company, you need to listen to feedback from the market and pivot according to its demands. Do you have anyone on your team with the appropriate entrepreneurial background to lead your company at this stage in its life?
 
 
Aamar Khwaja
04-07-2021 10:29 AM
Issuer
Hi Joe, thank you for your interest. We have a good balance between early-stage entrepreneurial experience as well as relevant growth experience. As the founder, I have a background on Wall Street combined with my entrepreneurial experience creating a microfinance company and dabbled as an investor with two exits. Sid, our COO, successfully started a not-for-profit FoodTech accelerator and also has experience as a senior executive in the consumer packaged goods industry. He has built a business from scratch to $12M in two years during his time in CPG and has launched a number of household brands and managed businesses up to $200M in revenue. Hope, has successfully built three startups and understands the importance of culture, speed, and focus as it relates to the consumer. We also rely on several serial entrepreneurs on our board of advisors who've had multiple exits and to help navigate on a day-to-day basis.
Daniel Corbett
04-06-2021 3:27 PM
Investor
I was interested in learning more about the $25 monthly subscription you have planned. What does the customer get for their subscription?
 
 
Aamar Khwaja
04-09-2021 10:32 AM
Issuer
Monthly subscriptions cost $25/month and you receive seeds and soil to last you for the month. The food that you grow will be approximately half the cost of its organic equivalent. The seeds come in various combos broken into three seed types In the greens family: 1. Microgreens, 2. Leafy Greens and 3. Herbs. There may be other seed types available such as root veggies, but those are a la carte for now. The combos are made up in such a way that the food that you grow lasts about a month or longer. For instance, a microgreen combo, you would receive 16 pods of microgreens. TinyFarm has 8 pods, so this combo would give you two cycles. Basically you'd be able to grow one servings of microgreens per day. Here is an example of ONE servings: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_k7VWR2-SQ You would also receive the no-mess soil blocks for each pod that you'd be growing in. If you ordered the leafy green combo, you'd receive: 8 Microgreens PLUS 4 Leafy Greens, including the soil blocks.
Arthur Hirsch
02-19-2021 1:41 PM
Investor
Modgarden: Are there Patents? Issued or pending? Is this a first investment financial offering or are there investors or financing in place in front? Is this product in production? Production cost on scaling? Import or production USA? Where is it manufactured? Is it manufactured in 1 location or multiple entities and assembly? Inventory? Current ... Planned? Is there Wholesale/Retail interest? PO’s? Letters of intent? Unit Cost? Pricing strategy. Wholesale/Retail/Internet? Competition?
 
 
Aamar Khwaja
02-19-2021 2:19 PM
Issuer
We have received a patent and patent-pending designations on the hardware and have ongoing R&D that will lead to more filings. We also have a trade secret soil recipe as well as trademarks. We have previously raised a friends & family round and an Angel investment round. To date, we've spent about $1.5 million on product design & development, soil research, and marketing research. Our current target is to raise another $1.5 million to commercialize. We are at our sixth (6th) prototype where it is now ready for commercialization once we finalize our raise. While we cannot discuss production costs in a public forum. We will achieve cost efficiency as we scale manufacturing. Our product was designed and engineered in Canada. We are in talks with manufacturers in Canada and internationally. As we near BETA (in about 4 months), the manufacturing location(s) will be finalized as well as the location of assembly. We have various strategies in place for manufacturing to ensure the nature of our design, engineering secrecy is maintained. Our intent is to sell the hardware for $199 with a soil and seed cartridge subscription at $25/month -In Phase i, we will employ an online direct-to-consumer model -In Phase ii (after year 2 of commercialization), we intend to introduce a B2B model to serve grocery/restaurants -In Phase iii, we plan to introduce our product internationally into Europe, Asia and ME. Our competition includes grocery stores or wherever fresh greens are sold. Our competition also includes indoor plant growing systems. The main differentiation over the competition is our patented modular design and we grow plants with health in mind, vis-a-vis our proprietary soil, as well as the proprietary LED grow lights. - In addition, our tinyFarm appliances are modular and can be placed on a standard kitchen counter, or stacked vertically and as we introduce various sizes, will be stackable horizontally across a wall to produce more food. -We have been working with leading Canadian universities on our proprietary soil and will be publishing studies discussing the potency of our soil. -We do not have any inventory at present. As we near commercialization, our plan is to build the pre-sale customer base for a pilot and then move to scale up across North America before expanding internationally.